A History of Scotland

8 Episodes | See full episode list »
Archaeologist, broadcaster and writer Neil Oliver charts the birth and growth of the Scottish nation in a comprehensive series co-produced by the BBC. Over 10 hourlong episodes, Oliver presents the best of Scotland's varied landscapes, iconic landmarks, monuments and historic architecture -- all shot in high definition -- picking up on the richness of the country's heritage as well as its major characters and influences. The series begins with how the Gaelic Scottish Kingdom was born in the ninth century and moves on to episodes detailing the infamous Highland/Lowland divide, the Covenanters, the formation of Great Britain, the 19th-century industrial revolution and the economic decline in the 20th century.
Show More »« Less
Ratings not available

Language: English Release Date: 12 January 2010 Genres: Documentary, History, Performing arts Time Period: 2010s

"This Land Is Our Land" Season 2 : Episode 4
"Project Scotland" Season 2 : Episode 5

Your Entertainment Today

  • Show All
  • Blogs
  • Photos